Fishie Fishie

We have this really great store in Berkeley called Ethnic Arts.  They have the coolest collection of stuff I have ever seen.  I have found some super fun things in this shop, such as antique puppets from Indonesia, colorful, hand crafted David Marsh furniture and gorgeous mola pieces.

I love the mola pieces and a few years ago bought several of the larger pieces and had them framed.  They hang in our living room and I love looking at the colors, the shapes and the beautiful workmanship.  These women are incredibly talented.  On this particular trip though, I found some smaller fish pieces just stacked in a little wicker basket.  I immediately fell in love with the colors and the fish themselves.  I couldn’t seem to put them down once they were in my hands.  As I stared at them, I thought it would be really fun to put them into a quilt.  So I bought them and started thinking about how I could use them.

I decided that this would be a great opportunity to go kind of potlucky.  Most of the quilt was made with leftover blocks from other projects and scraps.  It is kind of a wonky quilt, but what the heck!  My fish have a home and quite a colorful one at that 🙂

Here is the finished quilt.

20090619_145616_1541

Posted on February 7, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. What a great way to use a lot of left over blocks. Because of the the great colours they work well together. I can see why the fish blocks appealed to you. They are great. Love the way this quilt looks!

  2. This is so colorful and fun! and they all work so well together to make the quilt really interesting!

    Thanks so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  3. What a fun quilt! Immediately the colors made me think of Freddy Moran’s quilts. I love to see what people do with leftover blocks and these look like they were made for this. Love the fishies:)

    • Hi Gigi – thank you 🙂
      I actually have taken a bunch of classes from Freddy. She is such a blast and I just love her. She has clearly been an influence on my quilting! Have you taken classes from her?

  4. It’s beautiful! I love the riot of color.

  5. I love the fish blocks and how you fit them into this super cool and fun quilt! I wish we had a store like that around here! — well, I live in a great metropolitan area so maybe we do and I don’t know about it.

    • Thank you 🙂 That shop always has something unique and interesting in it. The last time I was in, they had all of these old Chinese wedding quilts on display. Some of the workmanship is incredible – especially the applique!

  6. Awesome!!!! Love this one!

    ________________________________

  7. Another stunning quilt!

Leave a Reply

Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Quilting Jetgirl

Sewing at the Speed of Sound

Diary of a Madfabriholic

Quilting, knitting, and a bit of crochet for good measure

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

Plum and June

A Little Snack of Silliness

Stitched in Color

A Little Snack of Silliness

Material Obsession

A Little Snack of Silliness

Monkey Needle

A family stitched together with love, seldom unravels.

grey dogwood studio

A Little Snack of Silliness

Mama Love Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilts of a Feather

A Little Snack of Silliness

My Quilt Infatuation

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilt Matters

A Little Snack of Silliness

Kitchen Table Quilting

A Little Snack of Silliness

my fabric relish

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quokka Quilts

a little quilting blog on the western edge of Australia

Diary of a Quilter – a quilt blog

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilts with Personality

For the love of quilting

Confessions of a Fabric Addict

A Little Snack of Silliness

Amy's Creative Side

Offering you the tools to explore your creativity

olive and ollie

A Little Snack of Silliness

Lily's Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Sunburnt Quilts

Quilts, Patchwork & Embroidery

SEW KATIE DID

because thread is the best glue.

Jaybird Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Freshly Pieced

Modern Quilts by Lee Heinrich

My Imperfect Life

Wife, mother, quilter. Not necessarily in that order

i'm a ginger monkey

A Little Snack of Silliness

In Color Order

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilt Story

A Little Snack of Silliness

Sew Fresh Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Red Pepper Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

