Mug Rugs – Round One!

While my daughter and husband were out racing sailboats all weekend, I had a grand time making mug rugs for the first time. ย I was inspired by Christa Rolf’s book Mug Rugs and a technique from Tara Rebman’s Craftsy Class, Quilt-As-You-Go Patchwork (the potholder class). ย Here are my first batch of mug rugs.

IMG_2052

IMG_2050 IMG_2046 IMG_2038 IMG_2037

Posted on October 28, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great looking mug rugs. The fabrics are great – colourful and vibrant. I have enjoyed looking at your quilt gallery, too. You have made some wonderful quilts.
    I see you love sailing. I am guessing you would have enjoyed having the America’s Cup races on your doorstep earlier this year.

    • Hi Karen. Thank you so much for your kind words! I was just looking at your site and your red and white quilt is amazing! I also loved your little crochet squares. My daughter and I tried to crochet last summer but failed! I think we need to take a class. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope I can figure out how to vote for your quilt on Amy’s Creative Side blog. PS – the America’s Cup racing was super cool! Scary boats though!

      • I tried to crochet many times. Several people tried to teach me but no luck. I finally decided I needed to go to classes and found someone who could make sense of it all to me. I only started a year ago and have realised how much there is to learn. Good luck finding the right teacher!

  2. They are absolutely adorable! I am going to have to make some.

  3. Leslie Biskup Ahmad

    Linda!…you are soo talented!…never heard of mug rugs, but my 8 yr. old daughter Hannah is my budding artist, and will love to see your beautiful work!! is it easy enough for a kid to do? and a not so artistic mother??

    • Hi Leslie! Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I really love making anything I can with fabric (except clothes…too many instructions…hee hee)! Yes, I think you and Hannah could definitely make the mug rugs. I’ll post a few photo’s of the different steps so you can see what is involved. I hope you and your family are doing great!!

    • Hi Leslie! In case you and Hannah get inspired, I have added some step by step directions for making mug rugs on my website. I hope you give them a try – I think you both will have fun making them ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great week! Linda

Leave a Reply

Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Quilting Jetgirl

Sewing at the Speed of Sound

Diary of a Madfabriholic

Quilting, knitting, and a bit of crochet for good measure

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

Plum and June

A Little Snack of Silliness

Stitched in Color

A Little Snack of Silliness

Material Obsession

A Little Snack of Silliness

Monkey Needle

A family stitched together with love, seldom unravels.

grey dogwood studio

A Little Snack of Silliness

Mama Love Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilts of a Feather

A Little Snack of Silliness

My Quilt Infatuation

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilt Matters

A Little Snack of Silliness

Kitchen Table Quilting

A Little Snack of Silliness

my fabric relish

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quokka Quilts

a little quilting blog on the western edge of Australia

Diary of a Quilter โ€“ a quilt blog

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilts with Personality

For the love of quilting

Confessions of a Fabric Addict

A Little Snack of Silliness

Amy's Creative Side

Offering you the tools to explore your creativity

olive and ollie

A Little Snack of Silliness

Lily's Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Sunburnt Quilts

Quilts, Patchwork & Embroidery

SEW KATIE DID

because thread is the best glue.

Jaybird Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Freshly Pieced

Modern Quilts by Lee Heinrich

My Imperfect Life

Wife, mother, quilter. Not necessarily in that order

i'm a ginger monkey

A Little Snack of Silliness

In Color Order

A Little Snack of Silliness

Quilt Story

A Little Snack of Silliness

Sew Fresh Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

Red Pepper Quilts

A Little Snack of Silliness

